Dodo the Dog

700 days back, I decided how the human life has been degraded and there’s a massive need to bring about a change. 6 months and 5 days earlier, I stepped out to get an alter life for myself. To get the change I desired in the form of a living animal. Needless to say, it’s been the best decision of my life. Due to unfortunate reasons, my mother wasn’t very pleased with the idea of getting a dog home because of the mess they create. Assuring her, I went a step ahead to actually look for a dog. She strictly said no earlier but to get her to this level took a while (and of course, tears). She agreed for a small dog (in size) and I couldn’t ask for a lot back then.
I did find a suitable Lhasa Apso, named him Dodo. I know Dodo means a dumb dead bird. But it also means rare. Dodo for me symbolizes how rare things are. And how my mother went from point A to point B which was very rare for a stubborn person to do.
Anyway Dodo changed me. Dodo bought happiness to me. Dodo became my life. Dodo is everything my life needed. A paw for luck, they say. He was my lucky charm. My days went better. My nights were seamless.
Entertainer. A true form of entertainment, that. Whatever happened to getting bored at home?
Loyal. Follows my dad, my mom and myself wherever we go. Be it washroom or outside. I’ve never seen anyone be more ecstatic about seeing me walk through the door even when I leave him alone at home for almost the entire day.
Lazy. Oh yes, he’s the dog for me. Finding an opportunity to sleep every single time.

They all say, once you get a dog, there’s no going back. The amount of attachment with the dog is tremendous. (I just shed a teardrop while writing this)
Time for some black dark clouds.
Now’s the time when my mother has given up and wants him gone. She’s not ready to look at the other side. Doesn’t want to hire a helper. Doesn’t want to listen. I don’t know what’s next. I don’t know what’ll happen to Dodo.
He’s my first love. (It may sound absurd to those who don’t have pets but those who have pets can relate to it, I’m sure)
I wish there was a “cute cam” in my room capturing the adorable times between the two of us. He puts his front paw on my shoulder when he know I’m upset and oh dear, you should see how he pounces on my lap when he sees me cry (right about now).

Couldn’t have asked God for a better gift. He’s the best thing that ever happened to me. I won’t ever forget this.
Love. Always.

image

About Niharika Gulati

Here to express my personal views. Mass media graduate. Have big dreams, feel the constant need to accomplish them one step at a time.

2 responses »

  1. I actually went to your blog, searched your posts to find if you have written anything on dodo, and here it is! :p

    Reply

Leave a comment